I have failed more than succeeded in life endeavors, largely because I didn’t put the necessary effort into understanding the cost and commitment , or really thinking through what’s needed to create the best opportunity for the most desired outcome. It’s easy for me to take a casual interest in something, do some cursory digging to be minimally informed, go do the thing, and then, surprise, surprise!, find that the results are less than hoped for and sometimes an outright bust. I am often blind to the deeper design and preparation considerations, as well as identifying the resources necessary to build a solid foundation and framework to give any worthwhile undertaking an opportunity to truly flourish.

My little vegetable garden is the current, somewhat well used metaphor for what I am talking about. It is pretty easy to clear a little ground, loosen some soil, buy some plants, put them in the ground, give them water and fertilizer, then hope for a good crop. The problem is, if I want the opportunity for a really good harvest, doing more than the minimal work is necessary. It is unrealistic to think that taking a superficial approach to anything is going to bring success. I know that for a vegetable garden to produce an outstanding crop, I have to take the time to plan, understand what the plants need to thrive, and prepare the soil with the best possible ingredients and composition to give the plants the best conditions in which to grow. I did not do that this year and the disappointing results bore that out.

It is important to count the cost of whatever you undertake, because committing to something fully will take time that you cannot devote to something else, but, if it is important, the sacrifice will be worth it.

Leave a comment